Cybersquatting

I’d never heard of Cybersquatting until I went to register “thesoutherntable.com” and found out that some shady front-end business had already purchased it, purely for the purpose of resale.

$500 worth of resale.

It kind of makes me sick. The company has no intention of using the domain, and the laws that govern cybersquatting aren’t very definitive. Essentially, I’d have to pay a lawyer more money to have them vacate the domain than I would just paying them the $500 outright.

Looks like I might have to settle for “southerntable.net.” (The closest alternative that hasn’t been “cybersquat.”)

Does anyone pay attention to “.net’s” anymore?

2 thoughts on “Cybersquatting

  1. Hello! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering which blog platform
    are you using for this website? I’m getting sick and tired of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform. I would be fantastic if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  2. I noticed the black and white fabric in you bedroom curtain imateimdely, so love the instant feedback with the creation that you made with such striking material. I'm sure you were a show stopper as you went shopping for festival supplies. Lucky us – we get to experience another festival from the 'Vix point of view.'

Leave a Reply

