On the Road: Hooks Bar-B-Q

A nice enough little barbecue join in tiny Opp, Alabama. While headed home from our family vacation we pulled off here to grab a bite for lunch. It’s everything you want in a smoke shack. Wooden tables, house made sauces, big portions, decent prices. If I’m ever in the area I’ll stop again.

Also, there was a menu board that had Korean Hangul script on it (I think it’s Korean Hangul, forgive me if I’m wrong. Better yet, correct me in the comments and I’ll fix it!) That’s not something you see everyday when you’re ordering pulled pork. If anyone knows why this place has the board, let me know please! (I find it really cool and quirky; purely because it’s so out-of-the-ordinary for Alabama.)

Hooks Bar-B-Q

601 Highway 331 S

Opp, AL 36467

20130817_121224

Hooks Bar-B-Q

20130817_122421

Pulled pork, spicy sauce, beans, potato salad.

20130817_122425

Shot of the staff and English menu. Love the wooden walls.

20130817_123526

Korean Hangul? Help!

Leave a Reply

