Homemade Rolling Pin and Pastry Board

I got a little tired of not having a rolling pin and pastry board so I made a set. The pin is poplar and the board is pine, and both are sealed with four coats of butcher block conditioner.

The biscuits turned out a little dry, but the board and pin performed amicably. No need to scrape anything off of either, and when I wiped them with a wet paper towel, the water beaded up and was able to be absorbed away by a dry towel.

All in all, a success.

Also, I’ve included a picture of my grandmother’s biscuit cutter. She gave it to me a few months ago. I don’t know how old it is, but I can only guess by the wear on the handle, it’s cut quite a few biscuits.

image

image

image

image

One thought on “Homemade Rolling Pin and Pastry Board

Leave a Reply

